Album Review

Atlantis by Clifford White
12 March 2017
Atlantis by Clifford White

Atlantis review by Dave Shoesmith, CD Services (October 2010)

Magnificent new symphonic synth album

In this message… a magnificent new symphonic synth album from Clifford White, and a reminder of the previous epic… With Vangelis not very active in the album field these days, at least we have artists like Clifford White to keep Van fans happy with his brand of melody fuelled, grandiose, symphonic and rhythmic synth music. We recently re-discovered Clifford White, one of our earliest new artist successes, with a long awaited follow up to an 80’s/early 90’s best seller at CDS Towers called ‘Ascension’, and that was closely followed by the wonderfully epic ‘Gods Of Olympus’, and album that is ethereal, heavenly and dream-like at one end of the spectrum, and breathtaking in its dynamic scope and visionary qualities at the other. Now, just a few months down the line we have the brand new album: ‘Atlantis’ and it’s another winner if you enjoyed the previous two, or are already into the music of: David Wright, Code Indigo, David Arkenstone, Vangelis or Robert Fox.

Just like the previously mentioned artists Clifford White really knows how to create a fine theme, then roll it round, re-shape and re-texture it in such a way that it keeps your attention through each sumptuous track. On ‘Atlantis’ he has incorporated slightly more in the way of rhythms, and these roll in a fluid like manner and perfectly support the thematic flow of the tracks where they are used, as for example on: ‘Kingdom’ where he gets into a passage where gorgeous building melodies interweave gracefully in and out of the ripples of rhythmic energy. The same applies on: ‘Voices Of The Aegean’, where this time the balance of heavenly voices and soft rhythms fit perfectly into the watery atmosphere of the piece.

With it’s ethereal, heavenly and dream-like tracks alongside the more rhythmical pieces, all encompassing a whole plethora of sounds and atmospheres, there are indeed many similarities in the style of ‘Atlantis’ to the 2009 epic: ‘Gods Of Olympus’, and if you liked that album, you’re just about certain to like this just as much, if not more! Quoting the text on the back cover of ‘Atlantis’ – “The enduring mystery of a lost, advanced civilisation is brought back to life in this epic musical adventure. Sweeping and majestic, powerful and rhythmic, ‘Atlantis’ voyages back in time to revisit the ancient Atlanteans and explore their myths and legends in an awe-inspiring journey guaranteed to surprise, dazzle and astound.”

As always, a great value for money CD, and another gem for everyone into symphonic / rhythmic synth music!!!

October 20th, 2010 | By Dave Shoesmith, CD Services

Classical Beauty
Gods of Olympus // The Gods of Olympus
  1. Gods of Olympus // The Gods of Olympus
  2. Aphrodite // The Gods of Olympus
  3. Atlantis // Atlantis
  4. Ares // The Gods of Olympus
  5. The Power Within // The Healing Touch
  6. Eternity // The Healing Touch
  7. New World // Atlantis
  8. Hermes // The Gods of Olympus
  9. Reawakening // The Healing Touch
  10. Poseidon // The Gods of Olympus
  11. The Journey Begins // Revelation
  12. Into Infinity // Revelation
  13. Eternity’s Ocean // Revelation
  14. Rapture // Revelation
  15. Forevergreen // Revelation
  16. The Blessed // Revelation
  17. The Golden Years // Nature's Symphony
  18. Revelation // Revelation
  19. Worlds in Motion // Nature's Symphony
  20. Tears of Innocence // Revelation
  21. Transmigrations // Nature's Symphony
  22. The Never Ending Dream // Revelation
  23. Inspirations // Nature's Symphony
  24. The Last Snows of Winter // The Lifespring
  25. Golden Sunrise // Ascension
  26. The Calling // Ascension
  27. Mr. Elemental // Ascension
  28. Church of Light // Ascension
  29. Arrival // Twilight Paradise
  30. Ascension // Ascension
  31. Music Box Lullaby // Ascension
  32. Hallowed Ground // Ascension
  33. Journey’s End // Ascension
  34. First To Love // The Lifespring