Clifford White

Blog posts
06 May 2019
Cityscape by Clifford White

Cityscape review by Pablo Rego, Yoga without Borders (May 2019)

“Cityscape”, the creation of an urban landscape of Clifford White.

The fourth volume of the series “Synergy” is a contemporary musical painting that uses the infinite resources of electronic music to paint the everyday aspects of life in the city from an optimistic climate. “Cityscape” is the album that closes the series created by the British Clifford Withe as an exploration of classical and contemporary electronic music.

“Cityscape” is an overflight for a city witness in which, throughout the duration of its thirteen subjects, illuminating corners and climates typical of the urban world. Throughout these topics Clifford White is taking different resources of electronic music and its different periods, creating a contemporary sound that includes, as it happens with the memory of the cities, different eras and different messages.

According to the author, (who quotes the Vangelis classic “The City” of 1990 as the starting point for his compositions, but that recognizes that as he was creating the themes he moved away from said point of reference), “Cityscape” is the most optimistic of the four albums of the Synergy series. His favorite tracks are “Sidewalk” with his retro-synthwave style of the ’80s, the funky “Garden Party”, the exotic lounge of “Lovers Lane” and the final title track “Cityscape”.

“Cityscape” is a disc of contemporary electronic music, which uses resources of different genres that coexist in the city such as rock, dance, funk or oriental music, recreating and representing elements such as machines or technology, emotions that they vary in intensity, the calm within the chaos, the journey beyond the limits of the city, the love, the hyperactivity or the sub-worlds that attract and repel at the same time.

But in any case, “Cityscape” rescues the positive vision of the inhabitant of the city who finds the distance of everything to remain calm, experiencing the joy, love or hope always possible in a being that assumes its time, flows with the urban rhythm and lets out the best of itself, despite the incessant movement and omnipresent intensity.

In addition to “Cityscape”, the other three volumes of the conceptual work “Synergy” are “Waterworld”, “The speed of silence” and “Robot Dawn”. More information about the musician, composer and producer Clifford White on his website

Translated from the original Spanish review by Pablo Rego for the Yoga without Borders Magazine. See original review here.

Classical Beauty
Gods of Olympus // The Gods of Olympus
  1. Gods of Olympus // The Gods of Olympus
  2. Aphrodite // The Gods of Olympus
  3. Atlantis // Atlantis
  4. Ares // The Gods of Olympus
  5. The Power Within // The Healing Touch
  6. Eternity // The Healing Touch
  7. New World // Atlantis
  8. Hermes // The Gods of Olympus
  9. Reawakening // The Healing Touch
  10. Poseidon // The Gods of Olympus
  11. The Journey Begins // Revelation
  12. Into Infinity // Revelation
  13. Eternity’s Ocean // Revelation
  14. Rapture // Revelation
  15. Forevergreen // Revelation
  16. The Blessed // Revelation
  17. The Golden Years // Nature's Symphony
  18. Revelation // Revelation
  19. Worlds in Motion // Nature's Symphony
  20. Tears of Innocence // Revelation
  21. Transmigrations // Nature's Symphony
  22. The Never Ending Dream // Revelation
  23. Inspirations // Nature's Symphony
  24. The Last Snows of Winter // The Lifespring
  25. Golden Sunrise // Ascension
  26. The Calling // Ascension
  27. Mr. Elemental // Ascension
  28. Church of Light // Ascension
  29. Arrival // Twilight Paradise
  30. Ascension // Ascension
  31. Music Box Lullaby // Ascension
  32. Hallowed Ground // Ascension
  33. Journey’s End // Ascension
  34. First To Love // The Lifespring